Select region: 

As of June 2017 all Government News has been added to the Government News Archive. We look forward to providing you with more services through our Government Publications. Stay tuned for more insights on our new website releasing soon.

St. Maarten minister De Weever launches National HIV workplace policy


PHILIPSBURG–Minister of Public Health Cornelius de Weever recently launched the country’s first National HIV and AIDS Workplace Policy. Minister De Weever has described the moment as a historic one for the 600+ families affected by their loves ones who are living with HIV/AIDS.

“Another historic moment is when the Chamber of Commerce was the first to sign an HIV/AIDS workplace policy when I was a board member on their behalf. I presented a draft HIV/AIDS workplace policy for government to then Commissioner of Health Franklin Meyers.

“We have now come full circle and as Minister I have the privilege to launch the HIV/AIDS workplace policy for all civil servants. I will like to call on all government owned companies, all Non-Governmental Organizations, all unions, all [red] business and businesses in general to join us by implementing their own HIV/AIDS workplace policy,” Minister of Public Health, Social Development and Labour Cornelius de Weever said on Sunday.

The National Workplace Policy on HIV/AIDS is a framework for action by government, employers and workers to deal effectively with HIV/AIDS at the workplace.

The policy takes into consideration the effects of HIV/AIDS on the most productive segment of the workforce and as such, views the problems associated with HIV/AIDS in terms of the significant negative implications they hold for the economic and national development of the country.

The purpose of the policy is to facilitate the development of a working environment that protects the rights of workers regardless of their HIV status. This includes all workers irrespective of where they work.
Those who spoke at the launch which took place in the A.C. Wathey Legislative Hall were HIV/AIDS Programme Manager Suzette Moses-Burton, Secretary General Jorien Wuite, Head of the Labour Department Rafael Boasman and HIV/AIDS Project Officer Margje Troost.

Share this page:
« Back
Back to Top