Sybilla Dekker appointed as CFT Member


THE HAGUE--The Kingdom Council of Ministers on Friday approved the appointment of Sybilla Dekker as Member of the Committee for Financial Supervision CFT for Curaçao and St. Maarten, as well as the CFT for Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba.

Dekker will represent The Netherlands in this committee, which supervises the execution of the Financial Supervision Laws (Rijkswet Financieel Toezicht) in effect for the countries Curaçao and St. Maarten and for the Dutch public entities Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba.

A former Dutch Minister of Public Housing, Physical Planning and Environmental Management for the conservative VVD party from 2003 until 2006, Dekker (70) will replace Margo Vliegenthart. The appointment goes into effect July 1, 2012.

Dekker is no stranger to the Dutch Caribbean, as she has been Chairperson of the Antillean Co-financing Organisation AMFO since 2007. She will give up this function. Dekker has ample experience in government and corporate business.

In a press release, CFT stated about Vliegenthart's pending exit: "Her input in the Board has been considerable and her work has been much appreciated."

Other members of CFT Curaçao and St. Maarten are: Chairman Professor Age Bakker and Alberto "Chos" Romero for Curaçao; and Richard Gibson for St. Maarten. As of July 1, CFT Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba will consist of Bakker, Dekker and Max Pandt, who represents the three islands.