St. Maarten parliament approves new Audit Chamber members


PHILIPSBURG--The new chairman, members and substitute members of the General Audit Chamber were approved by Parliament during a plenary session in Parliament House on Tuesday. Acting Chairman Ronald Halman will take up the post as full chairman on Friday.

The audit chamber board was put in place temporarily for two years on October 10, 2010, when St. Maarten became a country-within-the-Dutch-Kingdom. This new appointments will take the audit chamber into its first full seven-year term. The new members have to take the oath of office before the governor in the coming days.

Other board members will be Alphons Gumbs and Mark O. Kortenoever. Substitute members are Daniel E. Hassell, Alphaees W.T. Tatem and Hyden Gittens.

Members of Parliament Gracita Arrindell (United Peoples' party) suggested that the nominees be approved en masse, instead of separately.

MP Roy Marlin objected to the proposal saying that he was not sure if that was in conformity with the regulations.
Arrindell countered that as a former president of parliament, she would not make a proposal that was against the regulations. The names were adopted en masse by Parliament.

Independent MP Frans Richardson was not in agreement with the way the agenda point was conducted. He commended that that agenda point should have move through round one and two of the debate and then to the voting.
President of Parliament Rodolphe Samuel (National Alliance) chaired the meeting.